DGA Awards: Alejandro G. Iñárritu Wins Best Feature Film Director For ‘Birdman’, TV Winners Include Lesli Linka Glatter ‘Homeland’ & Jill Soloway ‘Transparent’

59 of the 66 DGA Winners have gone on to win Best Director at the Academy Awards. Still rooting for Richard Linklater!


Alejandro G. Iñárritu snared the best feature film director award for Birdman at tonight’s 67th Annual DGA Awards. “Making a film that’s good, it’s war and we have to survive it. If it is considered a great film, it has nothing to do with me. It’s a miracle,” said Iñárritu in accepting his award.

For much of the night, women ruled. US-CINEMA-DGA AWARDS-TROPHYLesli Linka Glatter won best dramatic series director for Homeland, Jill Soloway took the comedy series nod for Transparent, Lisa Cholodenko for HBO’s Olive Kitteridge and Laura Poitras for docu Citizenfour.

The DGA also presented Lifetime Achievement Awards in Television Direction to James Burrows and Robert Butler. Burrows noted in his acceptance speech that winning the award “does not mean that I’m retiring.” Butler, the veteran director of Star Trek and Hill Street Blues pilots among other works, gave a nod to fellow winner Burrows and crowed…

View original post 708 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s